Enjoy What He Likes

peyton-manning-denver-broncos-throwingUnless you live under a rock (or are one of the ones fighting the cold) you know that the Super Big Football Game is Sunday. (I would use it’s real name, but don’t want the NFL after me – They get weird sometimes.)  The game is one of the highlights of the sports year for most guys and it is something we look forward to, even if our favorite team is not in the game.  (I am lucky this year; I am a life-long Bronco fan.)

Don’t take his joy in the events of day away by pouting or being grumpy because he wants to watch the game.  (BTW – This is true of all big events that he wants to see.) I know wives who get so upset that he wants to watch the game that they will do anything to keep him from doing it.  Ladies I know most of you are much more understanding of this than men are and for that I applaud you.  (My next post to husbands will be about not being sports junkies and the need to be more tolerant of what their wife likes.)

Don’t hate what he likes: I think most guys like sharing what they like with their wives and would like them to participate in their activities at least some times, if not all the time.  Mrs. Rock is not much of a football fan, except when it comes to the Broncos.  If I am watching a football game that does not include the Broncos, it is rare for her to sit and watch with me, in fact about the only time is when she really wants lay her head in my lap while she goes to sleep.  But if the Broncos are on, she normally tries to watch at least some of the game with me, if not from beginning to end.  I LOVE WATCHING THE BRONCOS WITH HER.  I love it more than I like watching it with my friends, even more than watching it with my sons.  There is something bonding about sharing that time together.  

I bet your hubby would feel the same way, whether it is a movie he likes, a sporting event, going for a run, or even going fishing.  He may like to do it with his buddies part of the time, but he will love you being there at least some of the time.

How To Watch Football: I it sounds silly, but there are things that help to make the experience better for everyone.  My kids learned these at an early age.

  • No walking in front of the TV during a play or during an instant replay.
  • No talking when the referees are talking. (The Referees are also known as Zebras &/or Refs.)
  • No talking while the announcers are discussing an import play or call – I know that is harder to know, but if he is glued to the screen, you might want to ask softly before you start talking.

Beyond those rules, it is just the basics, make sure you have some good munchies and lots of Dr. Pepper to enjoy the game with.  BTW – if you don’t really like the game, remember that some people are spending millions of dollars to put commercials on during the game.  Some years they are more entertaining than the game itself.  (Normally, I say commercials are the perfect time to do some kissing, but not during this game, although halftime me be good for that that, it is twice as long during the championship game.)

I Can’t Promise it will Work, but if start to show an interest in his likes, such as football, it may be that he will be more willing to take an interest in some of your likes such as chick flicks and Downton Abby.  You might find other ways to sweeten that deal, but that would be for another post!

10 thoughts on “Enjoy What He Likes

  1. “I Can’t Promise it will Work, but if start to show an interest in his likes, such as football, it may be that he will be more willing to take an interest in some of your likes such as chick flicks and Downton Abby.” Speaking from a heart that had the complete wrong motive; this is something you’ve gotta watch in yourself. Our hearts are terribly wicked … the motive has to be right or the results will be wrong. It’s a very fine line.

  2. “Sexy things he will not tell you” is a broken link and tells you “page not found.” Thought you might want to repost unless you took it down intentionally.

  3. I can’t -exactly- relate to this as my hubby does not watch sports (we tried to watch the Superbowl one year and totally got the time wrong–by the time we turned on the TV it was half-time, lol. We just ate our fatty football foods and watched something else.). I can relate though in that he likes to play video games after work. I try to let him do this without nagging several times per week. In return, he allows me full control of the TV to watch my DVR’d shows a few times as well.

Leave a Reply

